Charles Bridge: The Most Magical Bridge on Earth

Nearing Christmas in my second year of uni, I unknowingly stepped onto the most magical place for Christmas markets, and a location which would become my top favourite cities in Europe.

Say hello to Charles Bridge in Prague!

Say hello to Charles Bridge in Prague!

This bridge is simply beautiful!

Let me quote some background from Wikipedia:  “The Charles Bridge is a famous historic bridge that crosses the Vlatva river in Prague, Czech Republic. Its construction started in 1357 under the auspices of King Charles IV, and finished in the beginning of the 15th century. As the only means of crossing the river Vltava (Moldau) until 1841, the Charles Bridge was the most important connection between Prague Castle and the city’s Old Town and adjacent areas. This “solid-land” connection made Prague important as a trade route between Eastern and Western Europe.”

I love the Baroque statues erected along the bridge (621m long), depicting various saints and patron saints.

I loved the fact that there was a band of 6 elderly men , playing joyously in freezing weather, much to our delight, we stood for an hour and a half on that bridge just enjoying the music, I didn’t even notice cold wind biting at my face.

Edited-10

At this juncture, I would like to point out that my pictures of the Charles Bridge are not the typical spectacular foggy or dawn versions you probably would have seen elsewhere. We didn’t plan on getting up at dawn before anyone arrived to take photos, so I do apologise for the ordinary day time photos, which includes fifty other people on the bridge.

Superbly contented on this bridge !

Superbly contented on this bridge !

View from the bridge of the Vltava river; view of the Old Town.

View from the bridge of the Vltava river; view of the Old Town.

Edited-8

I do not know why for certain this bridge is so beautiful for me but I believe the people, culture, food and architecture all played a part in particularly enticing me into this bridge. It is truly very magical for me in my heart and I can’t wait for my return trip.

Edited-11

Leave a Reply

